10th House of Reps will be Dynamic, Set to Address Country’s Major Challenges


A Member representing Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency of Ondo State, Hon. Odimayo Okujimi said he is optimistic that the 10th National Assembly, particularly the House of Representatives will be robust and. dynamic.

Hon. Odimayo Okujimi Member representing Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency of Ondo State

Okujimi in an interview with this medium noted that the Members of the 10th House of Representatives will do everything possible within the ambit of the law to address the numerous challenges in the country.

“As you have seen, the current National Assembly was inaugurated on June 13, 2023. Few days later, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Tajudeen Abbas constituted 7 ad hoc committees to oversee the affairs of the House pending when the standing committees will be properly constituted.

“Similarly, on Tuesday 4th June, principal officers emerged. They consist of Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Majority Whip and Deputy Majority Whip. We also have Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip.

“I believe we are on the right track and moving on the right direction,” Okujimi said.

Recall that the two chambers of Nigerian National Assembly on Tuesday got 16 new principal officers.

On Tuesday during plenary session, Senate President, Godswill Akpabio announced Senator Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti State as Senate Leader, Senator Dave Umahi from Ebonyi State as Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno State as Chief Whip, and Senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara State as Deputy Chief Whip.

Akpabio also announced the names of minority principal officers.They are Senator Simon Davou (Plateau North – PDP, Minority Leader), Oyewunmi Olarere (Osun West – PDP, Deputy Minority Leader), Darlington Nwokeocha (Abia Central – LP, Minority Whip), Rufai Hanga (Kano Central – NNPP, Deputy Minority Whip).

In the same vein, Abbas announced Julius Ihonvbere (APC – Edo) as House Majority Leader, Halims Abdullahi (APC – Kogi) as Deputy Majority Leader, Bello Kumo (APC – Gombe) as Chief Whip, and Adewunmi Onanuga (APC – Ogun) as Deputy Chief Whip).

Abbas also read a letter from the Minority Caucus which detailed the names of the principal officers.

The letter named Kingsley Chinda (PDP, Minority Leader), Aliya Madaki (NNPP, Deputy Minority Leader), Ali Isah (PDP, Minority Whip), and George Ebizimawo (Labour Party, Deputy Minority Whip).

%d bloggers like this: