Lawan Constitutes Conference Committee on Electoral Bill

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Wednesday announced the constitution of a Conference Committee on the Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill, 2021.

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan

The announcement was made at the start of plenary.

Those selected to be members of the Committee include Senators Yahaya Abdullahi (Chairman); Kabiru Gaya (North-West); Basiru Ajibola (South-West); Danjuma Goje (North-East); Lilian Ekwunife (South-East); and Matthew Urhoghide (South-South).

Members of the Conference Committee are expected to liaise with their counterparts in the House of Representatives to harmonise the two versions of the Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill passed by both chambers before embarking on its annual recess ten weeks ago.

%d bloggers like this: