Lawan may Announce Standing Committee Chairmen Tuesday as Senate Confirms Ministerial Nominees


There are indications that the Senate President, Senator Ahmad Lawan may announce the Senate Standing Committee Chairmen and their Deputy Chairmen after after concluding with the screening with the ministerial nominees on Tuesday.

Following the request of President Muhammadu Buhari through a letter on Tuesday that Senate confirm 43 ministerial nominees for appointment, the red chamber commenced the screening of the nominees on Wednesday.

As of Monday 29 July, about 40 ministerial nominees were screened. Only 3 nominees will be screened on Tuesday before the Senate will go into the committee of the whole for confirmation of each them.

The Senate had postponed its annual break from Thursday July 25 and included Friday and Monday to its days of siting in order to screen President’s ministerial nominees.

The nominees screened on Monday were Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara); Goddy Jedy-Agba (Cross River); Sulaiman Adamu (Jigawa); Maryam Katagun (Bauchi); Clement Agba (Edo); Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu); Muhammad Mahmoud (Kaduna); Rauf Aregbesola (Osun) and Babatunde Fashola (Lagos).

The 3 nominees to be screened on Tuesday are Sabo Nanono (Kano), Lai Mohammed (Kwara) and Saleh Mamman (Taraba).

THE LEGISLATURE gathered that the decision of Lawan to announce the Senate Standing Committee chairmen before going on the 6 weeks break was informed by the views of some quarters that such action will enable the dust raised by the announcement to die before the resumption.

Though it is not very clear if the Senate will adjourn for annual break on Tuesday July 30 or Wednesday July 31 but it was gathered that the red chamber may proceed for the break as soon as the names of the committee chairman are read out.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila last Thursday July 25, announced 105 House Committees and their chairmen. The House immediately embarked on its annual 6 weeks break.

%d bloggers like this: