Buhari Sworn-in for another Four Year – Term; Obasanjo, Jonathan, IBB Absent at Inauguration


President Muhammudu Buhari and his Deputy, Prof Yemi Osinbanjo have been sworn-in for their last four year-term in office.

The event took place at Eagles Square in Abuja on Wednesday around 10 am.

The Oath of Office was administered around 10.15 am by the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Mohammed.

President Buhari was on February 27, declared the winner of February 23 presidential elections by the Independent National Electoral Commission. His closest challenger in the contest is the Peoples Democratic Party Candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

Buhari, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress polled 15,191,847 votes to defeat the country’s former Vice President Atiku, who had 11,262,978 votes.

Atiku has gone to the election petition tribunal seeking to be declared as the winner of the election.

Buhari was first inaugurated as President of Nigeria on May 29, 2015, making it the first time in Nigeria’s history that an opposition candidate was taking over from an incumbent President.

Meanwhile, former Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo and Goodluck Jonathan were absent at the inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari for second term on Wednesday.

Also noticeably absent was ex-military president Ibrahim Babangida, among others.

The only past head of government present at the Buhari-Osinbajo inauguration was ex-Military Head of State Gen. Yakubu Gowon (retd), who occupied the middle section of the seats reserved for people in category.

%d bloggers like this: