Super Falcons Win African Women Nations Cup

Super Falcons of Nigeria have won the 2018 African Women Cup of Nations after beating the Bayana Bayana of South Africa.

This is the ninth AWCON that the
Super Falcons will be winning.

After the final match of the
continental tournament lasted into
extra time, the game ended in a
penalty shoot – out.

Super Falcons won 4 – 3 after South
Africa’ s Linda Motlhalo missed a

Assisat Oshoala missed in the second half after Ordega was fouled by the South African goalie. The win is a record ninth for Nigeria. The 2018 edition is the thirteenth overall for the competition which started in 1991.

Banyana Banyana, overcame Mali in the semi-final, putting two unanswered goals past their opponents.

In the other semi-final, Nigeria beat Cameroon on penalties 4 – 2 to progress. Cameroon had since beaten Mali in the third-place match to book the final slot for Africa at the 2019 Women’s World Cup to be played in France.

Nigeria and South Africa had since qualified for the women world cup after their victory at the semi-final.

%d bloggers like this: