Official: Dogara, Ekweremadu Win as Saraki Loses National Assembly Seat


The Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki will not be returning to the 9th Senate following his defeat at the Senatorial election.

The Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu and the Speaker of the House of Representatives Yakubu Dogara have made it to the 9th Senate.

Dogara was declared winner of  Tafawa Balewa/Bogoro Federal Constituency election in  Bauchi State about 10pm on Sunday by the returning officer of the constituency.

Mr Dogara, who is the candidate of the PDP, got 73,609 votes to defeat the APC candidate, Dalhatu Kantana, who polled 50,078 results.

Saraki lost to the Kwara Central Senatorial District candidate of the APC, Dr Ibrahim Oloriegbe, in what election observers described as a major upset.

Oloriegbe polled 123, 808 votes to defeat the Senate President who scored 68, 994 votes in the four local government areas of the Kwara Central Senatorial District.

The result of the election was announced by the Senatorial District Returning Officer, Prof. Olatunbosun Owoyomi, from the University of Ilorin.

Ile  Ekweremadu, the Peoples Democratic Party candidate and deputy senate president has been declared winner of Enugu West Senatorial District for the fifth time.

Ekweremadu polled 86,088 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mrs Juliet Ibekaku-Nwagwu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 15,187 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof Douglas Nwagbo of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) announced the results in Awgu on Sunday.

%d bloggers like this: